Strong steeplechase performance on day two of Pac-12 Athletics Championships



EUGENE, Oregon – from washington Brian Fay posted the fastest men’s steeplechase time at the conference championships since 1988, Colorado Madison Boreman rose to No. 6 in Pac-12 history in women’s steeplechase, and Oregon Max Vollmer and Alysah Hickey defended their conference titles on an action-packed second day of competition at the 2022 Pac-12 Track and Field Championships.

Vollmer’s title led Oregon to 1-2-6 in the decathlon and the Ducks extended their lead with a 39-point day to sit atop the men’s standings through 8 of 21 events. Fay led a 1-4-7 effort for Washington in the steeplechase, where the Huskies collected 17 of 40 points on the day to move into second overall. Cal scored 20 of his 35 points on Day 2 of the shot put with an impressive 1-3-5 record, which included just the Golden Bears’ fourth title in the event since 1960.

Led by the winning long jump from Hickey and Dominique RuotoloOn the leap from second place, the Ducks moved from fifth to the top of the team standings, earning 18 of their 46 Day Two points in the long jump.

The championships conclude Sunday with the crowning of 26 other event champions as well as Pac-12 team titles and will be streamed live on Pac-12 Network, the Pac-12 Now app and starting at 1 p.m. PT. with jim watson and Jordan Kent On call.

1. Oregon – 67
2.Washington – 60
3. California – 40
4. Stanford- 37
5. UCLA – 28
6. Washington State – 18
8. Arizona State – 15
8. Colorado- 15
10.Arizona – 14

1. Oregon – 60
2. Colorado- 44
3.Washington – 40
4. Arizona State – 34
5. California – 29
6. Oregon State – 24
7. Stanford- 23
8. UCLA – 17
9. Washington- 16
10.Arizona – 15
11. USC-10

MEN’S HAMMER THROW – Trey Knight, USC (235-7/71.81)
In a field where the top seven posted lifetime records, it was USC Knight Trey who topped them all to win the record 16th USC Men’s Hammerhead Championship. Knight threw 235-7 on his second attempt, a 13-inch improvement over his previous best and fourth in the NCAA this season. from washington Jayden White finished second with a three-foot PR (230-4) and California Ivar Moisandre finished third, recording four points better than his previous record (217-10) and overtaking 223-8 on his last throw.

DECATHLON – Max Vollmer, Oregon (7,961 points)
Vollmer defended his 2019 and 2021 titles to earn Oregon 10 points and his 20th individual decathlon championship, which is tied for the second most event titles among Pac-12 men’s teams. USC has won 20 100m crowns and the Trojans have also won the 200m 21 times. Vollmer is the fifth in conference history to win three decathlon championships and the fourth from Oregon, joining Dakota Keys (2012-14), Ashton Eaton (2008-10) and Craig Brigham (1973-75).

HEPTATHLON – Allie Jones, Stanford (5,731 points)
from Stanford Allie Jones led wire to wire through two days of competition and won three events (100m hurdles, high jump, 200m) to claim its first Pac-12 title by 155 points ahead of Colorado. Avery McMullen (5,576). On Saturday, Jones nailed the javelin throw with a 129-0 throw on his third attempt and won it with a time of 2:17.29 in the 800m. She is the Cardinal’s first heptathlon champion since Tracy Lawyer earned three straight victories from 1997-1999 and only the third in program history to win the event, along with Lawyer and Peggy Odita (1992).

WOMEN’S SHOTPIT – Jorinde van Klinken, Arizona State (60-1/18.31)
Jorinde van Klinken, the Pac-12 and NCAA discus champion last year, won her first conference shot put title with a 60-1 mark on her fourth attempt. ASU’s nine Pac-12 championships in the event are second all-time (UCLA – 14) and all have been in the last 16 conference meetings (since 2006). van Klinken’s was the fourth winning mark on 60 feet in Pac-12 history, joining UCLA Valeyta Althouse (61-10 ¼; 1995) and Arizona State’s Jessica Pressley (61-7 ¾; 2008) and Maggie Ewen (63 ¾; 2018). Jaida Ross finished second with an Oregon school record of 57-7 and a two-time defending champion Samantha Noennig of Arizona finished third (57-5 ½).

MEN’S SHOTPOT – Josh Johnson, Calif. (65-5 ½/19.95)
Josh JohnsonThe second attempt by was a PR of 65-5 ½ and gave the Golden Bears only their fourth all-time title in the men’s shot put. Johnson joins a list that also includes Matt Bagget (1963), David Porath (1981) and Pierre-Simon (2017).

MEN’S LONG JUMP – Pierce LaCoste, Oregon (25-4 ½/7.73)
from oregon Pierce Lacoste won the long jump with a PR of 25-4 ½ to give the Ducks their fourth event title in the last five Pac-12 meetings. UO went 1-2 with the Italian Olympian Emmanuel Ihemeje in second at 25 ¾. Oregon’s 12 long jump championships are second all-time (USC – 14) and LaCoste is the eighth different duck to win the long jump, with Thomas Smith (1969), Bouncy Moore (1970-71), JJ Birden (1987), latin bay (1988-90), Ashton Eaton (2010), Damarcus Simpson (2017-18) and Tristan James (2019).

WOMEN’S LONG JUMP – Alysah Hickey, Oregon (21 ½/6.41)
Alysah Hickey
won his second straight long jump title to lead a 1-2 for the Ducks. Hickey won with his score of 21 ½ on the first jump and Dominique Ruotolo finished second with a 20-5 ¾ record on his fourth jump. Fifth consecutive long jump champion in Pac-12 history, Hickey joins UCLA Gail Devers (1987-88), Arizona State Tiffany Greer (2002-03), Stanford Erica McClain (2005-06) and Oregon Jamesha Youngblood (2009-10) as women to win back-to-back crowns.

Men’s 3000m steeplechase – Brian Fay, Washington (8:32.47)
During his first NCAA steeplechase, Washington Brian Fay ran away from the field over the final 150 yards to win in 8:32.47, the fastest conference championship time since Oregon State Karl Van Calcar won in 8:30.13 in 1988. The NCAA leader in the 5,000 m, Fay’s steeplechase performance is seventh in the nation that season. It’s the Huskies’ eighth steeplechase title and the first since Aaron Nelson won his second in 2016.

Women’s 3000m steeplechase – Madison Boreman, Colorado (9:42.22)
The 2017 steeplechase champion as a freshman in 2017 and now a graduate student in Colorado, Madison Boreman won his second event title running a PR of 9:42.22. Boreman made it move with 300 yards to go, passing Oregon Aneta Konieczekthe defending champion, and moving away from the last 200. Boreman’s time is the third-fastest in Pac-12 Championship history, behind Konieczek’s 9:36.74 meet record and Washington’s. Katie Rainsbergeris second in 9:38.84 over last year. Previously No. 10, Boreman became the No. 6 in Pac-12 history. Colorado has won 10 of the last 11 women’s Pac-12 steeplechase titles.


Comments are closed.