Young concert artists audition finalists announced [WATCH SUNDAY]



The 2021 semi-final Young Concert Artist International Auditions concluded, following this week’s live auditions in New York City, YCA’s first-ever West Coast auditions at Colburn school in Los Angeles, and the evaluation of recorded auditions submitted by artists from around the world.

The 2021 finalists are:

  • Abeo Quartet

  • Hana Chang (Violin)

  • James kim (Cello)

  • Mon Li (Violin)

  • Ying Li (Piano)

  • Daniel McGrew (Tenor)

  • Erin wagner (Mezzo-soprano)

  • Meredith Wohlgemuth (Soprano)

  • Aaron Wolff (Cello)

  • Harmony Zhu (Piano)

The 2021 laureates will join the roster of young concert artists – granting access to a minimum of three years of management services, career commitments, publicity and career counseling, as well as a coveted recital debut in New York and at the Washington DC Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts.

Founded in 1961 by Susan wadsworth, The Young Concert Artists International Auditions differ from other competitions in that there is no ranking and an unlimited number of winners can be selected. Each candidate competes against a standard of excellence, not against each other.

“I can’t think of another organization that is more stimulating and sensitive to the birth of his career as a performer as young concert artists” said violinist Anne Akiko Meyers, winner of the 1986 first prize.
“I owe everything to YCA”, 2011 first prize winner, VC Artist Paul Huang said.

Throughout their tenure, YCA International Auditions laureates benefit from YCA’s relationships with industry managers, concert presenters, major conductors and financial supporters, as well as its long-standing reputation. to discover and advance the careers of extraordinary young artists.

The jury for the final round includes soprano Amy Burton, flutist Brandon Patrick George, conductors Miguel Harth-Bedoya and David Alan Miller, vocal coach Kayo Iwama, YCA president Daniel Kellogg, violinist Jennifer Koh , pianists Cecile Licad and Anne-Marie McDermott, Philadelphia Jeremy Rothman, vice president of orchestra artistic planning, violist Marcus Thompson, YCA founder Susan Wadsworth and cellist Paul Watkins.

Previous recipients include Pinchas Zukerman, Ida Kavafian, Anne Akiko Meyers, Emanuel Ax and Murray Perahia – and VC artists Paul Huang, Ray Chen, Stephen Warts, Zlatomir Fung, Xavier Foley, SooBeen Lee and Jonathan Swensen.



Leave A Reply