Oakland University School of Music, Drama and Dance on Tour this Winter

0


Due to ongoing renovations at Oakland University, numerous School of Music, Drama and Dance winter performances will be held at venues in Oakland and Macomb counties, in addition to the performances. organized on the OU campus.

“As Varner Hall is undergoing a major renovation, the School of Music, Theater and Dance is excited to be ‘on tour’ over the next semester, performing at various venues throughout the greater Oakland area. “said Kerro Knox 3, drama teacher and acting director of the School of Music, Drama and Dance. “It will be great to give our students the opportunity to be seen in new spaces while awaiting the updated facilities that we have become accustomed to.”

This season’s performances include:

Detroit Country Day School (Beverly Hills)

• Forum of young choreographers
Oakland Dance Theater and OU Repertory Dance Company

Saturday April 2 at 2 p.m. and 8 p.m.
Friday April 8 at 8 p.m.

• Choreography II Screenings
Sunday April 3 at 2 p.m.

• Senior dance show

Tuesday-Wednesday April 5 and 6 at 7:30 p.m.

Music by Evola (West Bloomfield)

• Piano Day Competition
Sunday March 13

Flagstar Strand Theater for the Performing Arts (Pontiac)

• Oakland University High School Jazz Festival

Saturday February 5 at 10 a.m.

• Oakland University Jazz Collective

Sunday February 6 at 3 p.m.

• Oakland University Brass Band

Sunday February 6 at 7 p.m.

• a saxophone studio recital

Wednesday March 23 at 7:30 p.m.

• Trumpet recital

Thursday March 24 at 7:30 p.m.

• a Low Brass studio recital

Sunday March 27 at 3 p.m.

• African Ensemble, World Percussion Ensemble and Steel Band with Regina Carter

Wednesday March 30 at 7:30 p.m.

• Jazz Combo, Jazz Singers and Jazz Band with Regina Carter

Thursday March 31 at 7:30 p.m.

• Latin Jazz, Jazz Singers and Creative Jazz Ensemble with Regina Carter

Friday April 1 at 8 p.m.

• Community jazz workshop with Regina Carter

Saturday April 2 at 10 a.m.

• Oakland University Brass Band

Sunday April 3 at 3 p.m.

Howarth United Methodist Church (Lake Orion)

• Brass ensembles

Monday March 21 at 7:30 p.m.

• a recital in a horn studio
Saturday March 26 at 3 p.m.

• Vocal studio recital

Saturday April 2 at 8 p.m.

• a flute recital
You have a friend – Famous (and not so famous) flute duets

Monday April 11 at 7:30 p.m.

Macomb Center for the Performing Arts (Macomb)

• Oakland Symphony Orchestra
24th edition David Daniels Young artists concert

Sunday February 20 at 3 p.m.

• Wind symphony and symphony orchestra

Wednesday February 23 at 7:30 p.m.

• Wind symphony and symphony orchestra

Thursday April 7 at 7:30 p.m.

Oakland Center, The Habitat (University of Oakland)

• Voice day

Saturday January 22 at 12:30 p.m.

Orchestra Hall (Detroit)

• Oakland Symphony Orchestra and Symphony Choir

Thursday April 14 at 7:30 p.m.

University Presbyterian Church (Rochester Hills)

• Jeffrey Heisler, faculty saxophone recital

Friday January 21 at 7:30 p.m.

• Oakland University Chamber Orchestra

Tuesday February 1st at 7:30 p.m.

• a tuba and euphonium recital in the studio

Tuesday March 15 at 7:30 p.m.

• a trombone recital

Monday March 14 at 7:30 p.m.

• Oakland University Chamber Orchestra

Tuesday March 22 at 7:30 p.m.

• Oakland University Choir and Choir

Friday-Saturday March 25-26 at 8 p.m.

• String recital in the studio

Monday April 4 at 7:30 p.m.

• Bedroom sets

Saturday April 9 at 3 p.m.

• Opera workshop

Saturday April 9 at 8 p.m.

Varner Lab Theater (University of Oakland)

• Yi-Yang Chen, guest artist recital at the piano
Monday March 14 at 7:30 p.m. (masterclass at 1 p.m.)

• Piano day

Sunday March 20 at 1 p.m.

• The armed violence project
An original play written by the 21-22 Company Class Collective

April 1-3 and 6-7

• a piano recital

Saturday April 9 at 8 p.m.

Varner Studio Theater (University of Oakland)

• Sense and sensitivity
Through Kate hamill | Based on the novel by Jane austen
February 10-13 and 17-20

• Opening of the gala: Artistic installation in a theater studio

Wednesday March 16 from 6 p.m. to 9 p.m. refreshments served

• Percussion studio recital

Thursday March 17 at 7:30 p.m.

• Take root

Friday-Saturday March 18-19

• Reinette
Book before Roger O. Hirson | Music and lyrics by Stephen schwartz
24-27 and 31 March 1-3 April

• Voice crossing concert

Monday March 28 at 7:30 p.m.

• Guitar studio

Tuesday April 5 at 7:30 p.m.

• Wind chamber set

Sunday April 10 at 3 p.m.

• a clarinet studio recital

Sunday April 10 at 7:30 p.m.

• Percussion ensemble
Monday April 18 at 7:30 p.m.

• Acis and Galatea
By George Frideric Handel
May 2022 Opera

• Henry and Mudge

Book and words of Kait kerrigan | Music by Bree lowdermilk
Based on the series of Cynthia rylant
May 2022 children’s musical

For more information on these and other performances, www.oakland.edu/smtd/performances-and-events.

All events are subject to change. Any changes or additions to our seasonal calendar will be posted on Oakland.edu/smtd. All our events, even free, require an advance ticket on etix.com. Tickets can be printed at home or presented on mobile devices at the door. Please email [email protected] with all ticketing questions.


Share.

Comments are closed.